FIND - Site help
Support: 0845 521 1410
Site help
Branding dots
 

Complete user guide

This area of the site is aimed at assisting you in using the FIND tools and services on offer. Simply select a help topic from the dropdown list below to find out more about your topic of interest.


Save project (views and prints)

'Save project' allows the internal storing and recall of both views and prints made during a FIND session. This includes the type and extent of map background, any layers that were turned on and any annotations that were made at the time of the save.

A saved project only records what was visible on the map screen or printed at the time of saving. Any roaming areas viewed prior to the save, such as the map background and layers, are not preserved. Additional viewed areas or layers turned on once a saved project has been opened will be charged as normal. Saved projects can only be opened one at a time and always recall the most recent versions of layers and map backgrounds on FIND. Any prints that are saved are an exact copy of what was printed at the time of the save.

Save a map view as a project
Save a print as a project
Open a saved project

Save a map view as a project

To save a view click 'Save project' on the actions bar at the top of the map screen. In addition you will be prompted to save a view each time you search and either close or log out of the map screen.

In the 'Saved project' panel you can enter a file name and description for a project as well as select a folder location to save it in. Information including project ref, sub ref, date and centre co-ordinate are recorded automatically. Projects can either be saved publicly, allowing all account users access, or privately, allowing only you to access. Additional folders can be created within the public and private folders by using the icon to the left of the folder name. Any new folders are named according to the original project ref.

Open a saved project

Save a print within a project

After printing a map you will be prompted to save it. Your print is saved in a project along with a linked map view. Any prints that are saved are an exact copy of what was printed at the time of the save. In the 'Saved project' panel you can create a file name and description for a project as well as select a folder location to save it in. Information including project ref, sub ref, date and centre co-ordinate are recorded automatically. Projects can either be saved publicly, allowing all account users access, or privately, allowing only you to access. Additional folders can be created within the public and private folders by using the icon to the left of the folder name. Any new folders are named according to the original project ref.

Open a saved print within a project

Open a saved project

Use the 'Open projects' link within the black 'Find a map' panel to retrieve a saved project. This is accessible either via the main FIND website or on the map screen. Within the 'Open project' panel you can browse or search for saved projects. Each saved project is displayed with a file name, project ref , sub ref, user and date last accessed information. Use the green query '?' button next to each project to view additional information, this includes date saved, any description, map background and layers present, and details of any prints associated with the project. Once you have located a project simply select it and click 'Open'.

There are three selectable tabs - Recent, Browse and Search - within the 'Open Project' panel that allow you to search for projects in different ways:

The 'Recent' tab displays the last ten project saves you have accessed or saved.

The 'Browse' tab displays all saved project folders sorted alphabetically, similar to a usual file hierarchy seen on most computers.

The 'Search' tab allows all available projects to be searched by different definable criteria (file name, project ref, sub ref, postcode, user, co-ordinate, username, date). Initially this tab displays a set of searchable fields. Simply type search criteria into the fields and click 'Search' to bring up relevant projects. You can use more than one searchable field at once, do this for a more refined search.

Search tips:

Search by keywords within 'Filename', 'Project ref' and 'Sub ref' search fields. This will return all projects that either partially or fully match the serach word.

Postcode or co-ordinate searches return all overlapping saved projects. If a specific radius is selected then only the projects that intersect this area are returned. There are seven different selectable radiuses between 50m and 5km.

Searching by a date (day/month/year) will return all projects saved seven days either side of this date.

Open a saved print within a saved project
Move, delete and the change security of a saved project
Getting detailed information about a saved project
Options and charges when retrieving a saved project

Open a saved print within a project

Saved prints are accessible via their parent saved project located in the 'Open projects' panel. Prints can be recalled directly from the panel without the need to open the saved map view. To do this simply click on the print download button to open the 'Select location for download' panel to initiate the download to your computer.

Edit a saved print within a project

Edit a saved print within a project

To edit a saved print open the parent saved project located in the 'Open projects' panel. The red outline on the map represents the border of the print. Change any annotations as required and then open print options panel with ‘+’ to reprint.

Open a saved print within a saved project

Move, delete and the change security of a saved project

Within the 'Open project' panel the 'Browse' tab alphabetically displays all saved project folders. Drag files and folders to change their location. To change a privately saved project to a publicly saved one, simply drag the project to a public folder. Public projects cannot be made private. If you need to rename a saved project this can be achieved by double clicking on the filename and editing the text. To delete a project or folder highlight it within the 'Browse' tab and use the 'Delete project' button. Only Account Administrators are able to delete projects or folders in a public folder.

Getting detailed information about a saved project

Getting detailed information about a saved project

All projects in the 'Open projects' panel have a green '?' button. Use this to display the 'Saved project information' panel containing the filename, description, project ref, sub ref, date saved, date last accessed, username, map background and layers present, and details of associated prints.

Options and charges when retrieving a saved project

The 'Saved project viewing charge' panel appears once a saved project has been opened from the 'Open project' panel. This box contains a list of all the layers, including the map background and annotations linked to the original save. Any associated charges to open the project are displayed next to the relevant map item. Remember to deselect layers you do not wish to reload or pay for again. The only layer that cannot be deselected is the map background. If either the FIND Map and OS Plan were saved as a map background they can be freely interchanged when either reviewing and reprinting for no additional charge.

Terms | Sitemap | Support | © FIND Mapping Limited 2017
Close Button